First meal

This meal was made up as I went along and sort of turned out the way I planned. I had originally planned chicken breast but realized I was out so I used ground beef. I think I would have much preferred it with chicken breast.

Rough recipe here :

1 1/2 lb. ground meat

1 lb. pasta

2. lb. of veggies

4 cups of spaghetti sauce

Brown meat, stir veggies and cook pasta. Then toss together with warmed up sauce.

Now here is what I will do next time besides the chicken…a little less pasta  and another pound of veggies. Maybe the sauce down to 3 cups. Also this made A LOT. But we always make a lot so that we have plenty of leftovers for lunches.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Disclaimer : Fresh veggies would have been better, not in our budget this week though. Chicken was be better choice, obviously. And whole wheat pasta but it makes my poor diseased gall bladder go nuts, so at the moment I avoid whole grains. Sad I know. To compare from a normal meal, this would have been NO veggies. More sauce and TWO pounds of pasta. So its an improvement that no one in the family is complaining about. When I make this in the future I will also serve with a nice green salad. Again, we are out & are making due until I shop on Friday. 🙂

About theprovidentpantry

Mother, wife, small business owner but most importantly I am a daughter of the King!
This entry was posted in $60 Menu, Meal Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First meal

  1. kirataffy says:

    okay, this is VERY doable and would be greatly enjoyed here in the house. It is also EASY to cook.

    • And it was really TOO much food in the end. We had again last night and today for lunch. Here is how I plan to do it next time: 1 lb meat, 2 lb. veggies, 1/2 lb. of pasta (it really was A LOT ) and 3 cups of sauce. And I have to say , it tasted even better a day or two after. 🙂

  2. Crizzle says:

    Where are you doing your grocery shopping at? Do you all have a Save A Lot down there close? If so, you can get fruits and vegetables there cheaper than Wal-Mart and they last longer. I’ve had much better experiences with their fruits especially. Did you use frozen veggies or canned veggies for this? It looks yummy, I bet Scott especially would love it. He loves concoctions. You should see the weird things he does with Ramen noodles LOL!

    • Crizzle says:

      Oh I forgot, Save A Lot’s meat is better than walmart too. More lean and better flavor even. Do you keep seasoned salt on hand? I love that stuff. I always cook my ground beef in it and when we grill we put it on the meat then too.

    • I don’t shop at Wal Mart much anymore since its so far away. I do mine at U=Save (local family grocery store) and Save a lot. The produce I found cheaper at U-Save than Save a lot.
      I used frozen veggies, wish I could buy it fresh for cheaper though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

