Saturday : Beans & Rice

Beans & Rice (very little rice, lots of protein filled pintos!)

Green Salad

Home made Butterhorn Rolls

About theprovidentpantry

Mother, wife, small business owner but most importantly I am a daughter of the King!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saturday : Beans & Rice

  1. Sheila says:

    I love beans. I don’t eat enough of them and haven’t over the last 2 years. How stupid I was for giving them up for following a plan written someone other then the Heavenly Father. They will soon become a part of our weekly menu again. I love pintos! They are my favorite! I also love butterbeans.

  2. Sheila,
    Beans are what I call, a super food. They are high in protein, fiber and help aid in the prevention of many illnesses. While they contain the same protein as say red meat, they do not break down in our bodies as quickly as meat does. Therefore our bodies are being fed these nutrients LONGER than any benefits of meat. Also they keep you feeling full less hungry over a longer period of time. I am researching what beans are higher nutritionally since all dried beans are extremely affordable (normally less than $1 a pound), I want to get the most nutrition for my dollar.
    Stay tuned, I am writing a whole article on beans! 🙂
    Michele

  3. Kelly says:

    Michele, Can you post your recipe for the beans? They look delish!

    • Kelly, I am not sure if its a recipe or not! LOL I dont add a ton of seasonings in ours cause we love to eat ours with chow chow sauce. But I do cook them in the crockpot how Denise taught me and towards the end I add in garlic, onion, cumin, a few shakes of hot sauce and some oregano. How much is up to you. I have heard of cayenne pepper added, paprika as well……:)
      I need to find a link to Denise’s crockpot method for dried beans cause it has never failed me since I switched to it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

