But you can’t eat healthy for $10 a person a week…

This is no doubt the sentiment I am met with almost every time someone hears our quest. And I don’t blame them. Healthy food off the counter IS expensive. But read that sentence again. Off the counter. If you walk into Super Target, BJ’s, Whole Foods etc. and purchase your weeks worth of food from them, your right. Its high priced. But if you buy WHOLE ingredients and do the work yourself then you certainly can eat healthy for $10 per person a week.
How?
Invest your dollars wisely. Sure, whole wheat noodles are more than ramen. But when you pay for it in medical bills those few dollars spent are but a drop in the bucket to rising medical costs. Make sure your paying for HEALTHY food otherwise cheap food will cost you more in medical bills. Don’t believe me? Don’t think it matters? Think we are all going to die anyways? Ask your doctor. Any doctor. Me and someone who lives on junk, processed, chemical laced foods may live the exact amount of time. But I assure you my QUALITY of life will be better. That is a medical fact. With that knowledge, I find I am much more willing to spend more time in the kitchen. I can buy yogurt, sour cream, buttermilk and cream cheese at the store. I can also buy it in organic form. But I can make it much cheaper myself at home with raw organic milk. I invest my time rather than money when ever I can. When I purchase I invest my dollars rather than use them for a brief appearance in my pantry.
Are we completely healthy foods only now?
No.
There is a bag of corn chips open on the counter as I type this.
But we are learning, we are replacing, we are doing better. I ditched regular milk. Raw for making raw stuff dairy items, organic 1/2 gallon a week for drinking (Josiah is the only milk drinker) and powdered for cooking right now. When the white rice is gone, it will be brown rice only. I am buying it now each week and putting it in my store containers so I have a good supply to start with. Fresh produce whenever I can. I am learning more new recipes. New ways to cook. New ways to stretch our budget. It takes time. It takes persistence.
Most of all you have to TRY in order to figure out how it will work for you and your family.
Effort is required in life.
If you shoot for nothing, you will hit your mark every single time.

About theprovidentpantry

Mother, wife, small business owner but most importantly I am a daughter of the King!
This entry was posted in Providence, Shopping Adventure, Simple Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to But you can’t eat healthy for $10 a person a week…

  1. kirataffy says:

    I commend you on your journey and the energy/time you are putting into it. There are baby steps happening over here, and soon I will be toddling along. I found a bread machine in Kiwanas for $3.50. Good price for something that can knead my bread and bake it if I don’t have time to put in the oven. It is getting on to August, when seedlings can be started for the veggie garden. I have figured out exactly where I will be growing the veggies.

  2. Laurie, Baby steps is what it takes. I took my baby steps years ago and I am still learning. 🙂
    God Bless,
    Michele

Leave a Reply

