Fresh, frozen or canned?


On our Facebook page today we are discussing if frozen is the same nutritionally wise over fresh veggies/fruit.

I was surprised to learn that since non-local fresh produce travels for many miles and is not hours old, that in the end it holds the same nutritional value as most frozen foods. Then I learned that frozen foods are often blanched before freezing, there fore their value is almost the same as canned. Subsequently a check on some of the newer steam bag frozen veggies found that there was OTHER things in them , some even trans fat. Why? Who knows!

So, then are all veggies basically nutritionally equal? No. If you can either grow your own (my #1 choice!) or buy local then that is the best bet. The upside is often local produced foods are often cheaper than there grocery store counter part. Though I know it is not always the case or even viable for some people.

What about organic? While I agree it is better for you than the hothouse method of producing veggies & fruits, if your buying in the grocery store chances are it has traveled and broke down the same as it’s pesticide counterpart. Often due to the lack of organic farms it has traveled longer. So does that mean it is not worth the price? Sometimes and sometimes not. But it is always worth the price if your moral compass wants to support a method of growing that is not chemical laced. But we are speaking nutritionally. And in that point, the jury is still out.

For me I have developed a list of priority for my vegetable and fruit buying. When my first choice is not available then I move down to the next choice. Remember this is what I have done in my own research to find the most nutritionally dense for my dollar. Moral issues may dictate you shop differently. πŸ™‚

1. Local fresh (organic if at all possible)
2. Grocery store fresh (organic if affordable & I feel it is a better choice)
3. Frozen (check you ingredients!)
4. Canned (last resort, I feel at this point its better than no veggies at all)

What is your first choice in veggies for your family? πŸ™‚

About theprovidentpantry

Mother, wife, small business owner but most importantly I am a daughter of the King!
This entry was posted in Providence, Shopping Adventure, Simple Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fresh, frozen or canned?

  1. Anita says:

    My first choice is fresh….as in our own garden! I have put up so far, snap beans, green butter beans, and the butterpeas are going wild. πŸ™‚ I also want next year to do more of it all….next choice would be to buy frozen on sale of course, when possible. I do support out local farmer’s market….and try to buy local.

    • Anita,
      Everyday I read about what you have put up (and Melissa too!), the more I am encouraged to grow our own. Being renters and in the city has it challenges but I think it can be done. πŸ™‚

  2. kirataffy says:

    I buy only frozen vegggies from the store. If I have fresh from my garden that is great, but I have never produced enough to begin supporting us. I do like to buy local at the farmer’s market, when I can and think of it. And last resort is canned. I won’t buy organic in the grocery store, it is simply to expensive. When I shop at the farmer’s market, I always see my favorite vendors and prefer organic over typical methods, but its not a priority for me.

Leave a Reply

