Cooking From Scratch : Making a Roux

One of the most handiest things you can learn to do in the kitchen is also the easiest thing to learn. How to make a roux. Roux can be the basis for gravy, sauces and even replace those costly but easy to use cream of whatever soups we all love so much.

Furthermore the ingredients of commercially bought items I listed above are often not good for you at all. With a roux, you can control what you use and make it healthy for your family.

Basics of a roux :
Equal parts of a fat & flour

What liquid you add to it determines what gravy you get. Cream gravy? Milk , I use powdered milk. More of a sauce like for chicken & rice? Broth is great, again homemade even better.

Still not sure? Here is a video 🙂

About theprovidentpantry

Mother, wife, small business owner but most importantly I am a daughter of the King!
This entry was posted in Cooking From Scratch. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cooking From Scratch : Making a Roux

  1. kirataffy says:

    I DID it!! I made pork gravey from scratch and it was GREAT and super stupid easy!!!!! Thank you for teaching me this!!!!

  2. It is easy, isn’t it? I am so glad you did it! Before you know it, you will LOVE being in the kitchen Laurie! 🙂

  3. Crizzle says:

    I DID IT! I DID IT! I DID IT! I made this and then added beef broth, sour cream, and parsley to make a sauce for beef stroganoff!!!! I sooooo did it! Thanks my SeaChele! I have always been too intimidated to make gravies, but look out now! There will be no stopping me now.

Leave a Reply

