Going Rouge : My Adventure in the Land of No ‘Poo

This post was written over a period of time. I did not post them as I wanted to see if this NO SHAMPOO (as in POO) was going to work for me and Madison. Also it gave a thoroughly time-line as to how long it took our hair to look normal again.

Wednesday August 4th, 2010
I did it. I finally got sick of washing my hair DAILY. No more shampoo or conditioner. This morning before my workout, I showered and cleaned my hair with a baking soda mixture. (RECIPE posted at the end of this post) No vinegar rinse for me as my hair was VERY dirty and oily at the time of washing.
Surprise~ My head tingled while rinsing! 🙂

Thursday August 5th, 2010
Despite working out twice my hair is still very clean. I did Madison’s Wednesday afternoon and it has been very nice as well. Jon did his hair tonight and was surprised with how clean his hair is. I do believe mine will need a washing Friday evening. I will say that my hair has taken on a strange shape and it tends to have a mind of its own currently, where as most of the time it just lays flat to my head. I have read that this is common. It is kind of neat to not have stick straight hair for a change!

Tuesday August 10th, 2010
I washed my hair on Saturday but we had a party on Sunday in which I needed to “fix” my hair. Meaning I used styling product. Blech. Today it will need to be washed again because of the product. I have yet to do a vinegar rinse yet as my hair is usually very oily. And because I do not have apple cider vinegar but just white distilled vinegar. I am hoping if I wash my hair today, it won’t need it again until Saturday. Fingers crossed! 🙂

Friday August 13th, 2010
I rinsed my hair last night when I bathed. Just water and my hair feels like I ‘washed’ it all over again! I had been avoiding wetting it but now see it is fine to do so! I will have no issue making it to Saturday to ‘wash’ my hair again. Wonder if I can make it to Sunday?? Also all females in this household are now NO POO and its working great! 🙂

Saturday August 14th, 2010
OK, so I won’t be making it until Sunday. But I am finding I can last longer between ‘washings’. The end result? My hair feels cleaner, feels fuller and to be honest, for the first time in it’s fine haired life it is actually a tad bit hard to manage. It is taking a life of it’s on for sure and frankly, I like that. My hair has always just laid flat on my head. So this is a welcomed change for me. Madison is experiencing the same thing, again….she likes the volume. We have yet to try the conditioner of apple cider vinegar but will soon. Both of our hair tends to be too greasy so for the initial trial we decided to not promote oily conditions. Overall conclusion is that I will not return to regular shampoo anytime soon! 🙂

Recipe and the article that I read that convinced me to try NO POO!


About theprovidentpantry

Mother, wife, small business owner but most importantly I am a daughter of the King!
This entry was posted in Simple Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Going Rouge : My Adventure in the Land of No ‘Poo

  1. kirataffy says:

    I use vinegar as a rinse to remove the build up of shampoo and product used. It works great!

    I am glad that this is working out so well for you. Your hair looked great when I saw it today, and I didnt’ know you were doing this.

  2. I kept it a secret. LOL
    If you want to really remove the build up, skip the vinegar. It is more of a conditioner than a cleaner. When you squirt your shampoo in your hand shake some baking powder in it and mix. This will strip the build up very easily.
    We first was clued into this when Madison went to get a terribly expensive hair cut. The stylist used a pomade to help style her hair. She then told Madison if she had a hard time washing the product out with shampoo to use baking soda instead. One research lead to another and here we are.
    For us, it was a a life saver, as Madison’s hair is very oily and we tried just about everything we could to save her hair. Nothing worked. THIS works. Plus its one less thing to buy and less likely to run out of it. 🙂

  3. Crizzle says:

    OML, I am sooo doing this! I have to buy three different types of shampoo right now. I have to buy some for oily hair for Scott’s girls, dry hair for me and tear-free for the little-uns. 😉 I will def need the vinegar rinse because I have some curly dry hair. My hair has a mind of its own anyway, so if I do this is it going to be sticking straight out of my head like I stuck my finger in a light socket????

  4. It might for awhile then it seems to calm down!

  5. Crizzle says:

    Good thing I’m a SAHM and my kids are schooled at home too then huh!?!? LOLOLOL

Leave a Reply

