It’s not you Grandparents world anymore…

I recently saw that a popular internet personality in the area of frugal warned their readers to beware of being  ‘too green’. That we should be wary of things just because they claimed it was good for us, good for our earth and so on. I agreed. Then I got to the part that made me stop in my tracks.

“Our parents/grandparents did not need this to survive.”

That is where they lost me. While I agree that the idea of being more ‘green’, ‘healthy’ and so on is over commercialized and most is not really green. We have to also understand…..this is not our grandparents world anymore. Our grandparents did not deal with the world we have today. GMO’s were not an issue. Please let’s keep in mind in their age, smoking was touted as a way to relieve ASTHMA. And in the case of a Nuclear fallout, why just simply tuck your head under your legs as your sitting on the floor. I could go on. There is a saying I love that applies to us all…

“When we know better, we do better.”

The personality went on to say that there was to her no difference in store bought eggs and organic home raised eggs. She said she had chickens for awhile and never saw the difference. I would suspect it was because she fed them what the world tells them to and not what God intended them to. Furthermore there are about 1500 people who are currently suffering from the latest egg recall that might disagree about being no difference. If you look at a home grown, pasture raised egg and the store bought egg (even a store bought ORGANIC egg) there is remarkable difference. However the comment is more alarming because WHEN can we SEE the nutritional content of items? Rarely. Broccoli sprayed with heavy chemicals looks the same as the one I plan to pull from my garden. They may look the same, taste the same but their contents are NOT the same. I am sure those 1500 people who are suffering will tell you that their eggs did not LOOK different from the eggs they are use to buying, therefore they had no reason for concern to eat them. Looking and tasting an item should not be the defining reason one rejects an assertion of health.

The personality went on to talk about how God does not want us to live in fear. I agree. But to suggest that being green or better stewards of this world is living in fear is really distorting God’s instructions to us. To be good stewards does not require fear but it requires us to be aware that our world is not what God intended for it to be. And He instructs us clearly to be good managers of it and that we are to hold it high regards. When we don’t, we must change. That is not fear my friends, that is has being the good and faithful stewards that God has intended to be….

Ezekiel 34:2-4 (New King James Version)
2“Son of man, prophesy against the shepherds of Israel, prophesy and say to them, ‘Thus says the Lord GOD to the shepherds: “Woe to the shepherds of Israel who feed themselves! Should not the shepherds feed the flocks? 3 You eat the fat and clothe yourselves with the wool; you slaughter the fatlings, but you do not feed the flock. 4 The weak you have not strengthened, nor have you healed those who were sick, nor bound up the broken, nor brought back what was driven away, nor sought what was lost; but with force and cruelty you have ruled them.

Proverbs 12:10 (New King James Version)
10A righteous man regards the life of his animal,
But the tender mercies of the wicked are cruel.

Jeremiah 2:7 (New King James Version)
7 I brought you into a bountiful country,
To eat its fruit and its goodness.
But when you entered, you defiled My land
And made My heritage an abomination.

About theprovidentpantry

Mother, wife, small business owner but most importantly I am a daughter of the King!
This entry was posted in Providence. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s not you Grandparents world anymore…

  1. kirataffy says:

    interesting blog and article. I enjoyed that.

  2. graftedvine says:

    I completely agree! Ibeg to differ with the lady you are referring to that there are no difference in farm fresh eggs and the store bought. I am still researching to see if I am able to have my own chickens or not, so for now I get them from my milkman. The store bought eggs have a pale yellow yolk, where his have a rich almost orange yolk. The darker the yolk indicates the higher in vitamins it has and how the chicken had a much better diet. Not to mention that they taste so much better!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Very good article. 🙂 Thanks for writing it!

Leave a Reply

